Public consultation on inclusion of new substances in the Authorisation List

Public consultation on inclusion of new substances in the Authorisation List


ECHA launches a public consultation on its draft recommendation of six new substances to be included in the Authorisation List. Interested parties are invited to submit comments by 23 September 2013.

Helsinki 24 June 2013 – The Agency regularly recommends substances from the Candidate List for inclusion in the Authorisation List (Annex XIV of REACH) to the European Commission. Based on an assessment of the available information and initial consultation of the Member State Committee, ECHA currently plans to recommend the following substances:

1. N,N-dimethylformamide (DMF)

2. Diazene-1,2-dicarboxamide (C,C'-azodi(formamide)) (ADCA)

3. Aluminosilicate Refractory Ceramic Fibres (Al-RCF)[1]

4. Zirconia Aluminosilicate Refractory Ceramic Fibres (Zr-RCF)[1]

5. Bis(pentabromophenyl) ether (decabromodiphenyl ether) (DecaBDE)

6. 4-(1,1,3,3-tetramethylbutyl)phenol, ethoxylated (4-tert-Octylphenol ethoxylates) (4-tert-OPnEO)[1]

The recommendation also specifies the proposed conditions to the authorisation requirement for each substance. These conditions particularly include the latest application and sunset dates and any specific exemptions of uses from the authorisation requirement.

Using the webforms available on ECHA's website, interested parties are invited to comment on the draft recommendation.

The Agency takes into account the comments received when finalising its recommendation. The European Commission will eventually decide which of the substances from ECHA's recommendation to include in the Authorisation List and on the respective conditions applicable for each substance.


[1] The full names of these Candidate List entries, including clarification on which substances are covered, can be found at the Candidate List (see link below, under "Further information")