Mikroplastik

Bild

Kunststoffe sind wichtige Materialien, die in unserer Wirtschaft häufig vorkommen. Sie sind in vielerlei Hinsicht praktisch und außerdem meist leichter und billiger als andere Materialien. Wenn sie jedoch nach ihrer Verwendung nicht ordnungsgemäß entsorgt oder wiederverwertet werden, werden sie häufig in die Umwelt freigesetzt, wo sie über lange Zeiträume hinweg bestehen bleiben und sich in immer kleinere Stücke, sogenanntes Mikroplastik, zersetzen können, die Grund zur Besorgnis sind. 

Mikroplastik besteht aus sehr kleinen (typischerweise kleiner als 5 mm) Feststoffpartikeln, die sich aus Gemischen von Polymeren (den Hauptkomponenten von Kunststoffen) und funktionellen Additiven zusammensetzen. Sie können auch Restverunreinigungen aus der Zeit ihrer Herstellung enthalten. Sie können unbeabsichtigt durch Abrieb und Verschleiß größerer Plastikteile entstehen, u. a. von synthetischen Textilien. Andererseits werden sie auch bewusst hergestellt und Produkten zu bestimmten Zwecken zugesetzt, beispielsweise als Abrasionspartikel in Gesichts- und Körperpeelings.

Was sind die Risiken für die Umwelt und die menschliche Gesundheit?

Einmal in der Umwelt angekommen, reichert sich Mikroplastik in Tieren, einschließlich Fischen und Meeresfrüchten, an und wird in der Folge als Nahrung verzehrt, auch von Menschen. Die Sorge um die Umwelt und die menschliche Gesundheit hat mehrere EU-Mitgliedstaaten bereits veranlasst, nationale Verbote für die bewusste Verwendung von Mikroplastik in bestimmten Verbraucherprodukten zu erlassen oder vorzuschlagen. In erster Linie betrifft dies „Mikrokügelchen“ (Microbeads) in abwaschbaren Kosmetika (Rinse-off-Produkte), bei denen das Mikroplastik als Schleif- und Poliermittel verwendet wird.

Die Europäische Kommission hat vor kurzem eine Studie mit näheren Angaben zu der bewussten Verwendung von Mikroplastikpartikeln in Produkten sowie den damit einhergehenden Risiken für die menschliche Gesundheit und die Umwelt veröffentlicht. Die Europäische Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) hat die vorliegenden Erkenntnisse über Mikro- und Nanoplastik in Lebensmitteln ebenfalls überprüft.

Die Kommission hat gemäß den REACH-Verfahren für die Beschränkung von Stoffen, von denen eine Gefahr für die Umwelt oder die menschliche Gesundheit ausgeht, die ECHA um eine Bewertung der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse gebeten, damit regulatorische Maßnahmen auf EU-Ebene getroffen werden, die bewusst zugesetztes Mikroplastik in Produkten aller Art betreffen. Im Rahmen eines anderen Projekts der Europäischen Kommission werden derzeit weitere Möglichkeiten untersucht, wie die Freisetzung von Mikroplastik in Gewässer verringert werden kann.

 

In welchen Produkten ist bewusst zugesetztes Mikroplastik zu finden?

Bewusst zugesetzte Mikroplastikpartikel werden in einer Reihe von Produkten verwendet, die auf dem EU-Markt in Verkehr gebracht werden, darunter bestimmte Arten von Düngemitteln, Pflanzenschutzmitteln, abwaschbaren und auf der Haut verbleibenden Kosmetikprodukten, Haushalts- und Industriereinigungsmittel, Reinigungsmittel sowie Farben und Produkte, die in der Öl- und Gasindustrie verwendet werden.

In Verbraucherprodukten sind Mikroplastikpartikel vor allem als Abrasionsstoffe bekannt (z. B. als Schäl- und Glättungsmittel in Kosmetika, sogenannte Microbeads). Sie werden aber auch zu anderen Zwecken eingesetzt, u. a. um die Dichte, das Aussehen und die Stabilität eines Produkts zu bestimmen. Sie werden sogar als Glitzer oder im Make-up verwendet.

Insgesamt wird in der EU/im EWR jährlich schätzungsweise rund 50 000 Tonnen Mikroplastik verwendet. Jährlich werden etwa 36 000 Tonnen in die Umwelt freigesetzt (ohne die Freisetzung von Füllmaterial, das in Kunstrasen verwendet wird). 

Durch die ECHA vorgeschlagene Beschränkung

Ab Januar 2018 prüfte die ECHA die Notwendigkeit einer EU-weiten Beschränkung des Inverkehrbringens oder der Verwendung von bewusst zugefügten Mikroplastikpartikeln durch einen Aufruf zur Einreichung von Beweisen und Informationen, einen Workshop für Interessengruppen im Mai 2018 zur Erörterung von Schlüsselfragen im Zusammenhang mit der Beschränkung sowie durch die Durchführung weiterer Studien und die Bewertung der erhaltenen Informationen.

Im Januar 2019 hat die ECHA eine weitreichende Beschränkung der bewussten Verwendung von Mikroplastik in Produkten, die in der EU/im EWR in Verkehr gebracht werden, vorgeschlagen, um deren Freisetzung in die Umwelt zu vermeiden oder zu verringern. Der Vorschlag soll die Emissionen um mindestens 85 % senken und die Freisetzung von 400 000 Tonnen Mikroplastik in den 20 Jahren nach seiner Einführung verhindern. 

Eine öffentliche Anhörung zu dem Vorschlag dauerte sechs Monate lang an und wurde am 20. September 2019 mit der Abgabe von 477 Einzelkommentaren abgeschlossen. Einzelheiten der öffentlichen Anhörung, einschließlich der nicht vertraulichen Antworten, sind auf der Website der ECHA verfügbar.

 

Stellungnahmen der Ausschüsse

Die Ausschüsse für Risikobeurteilung (RAC) und für sozioökonomische Analyse (SEAC) der ECHA werden 15 Monate benötigen, um ihre abschließenden Stellungnahmen zu dem Beschränkungsvorschlag anzunehmen. Die für die Meinungsbildung der Ausschüsse vorgesehene Frist von 12 Monaten wurde aufgrund der hohen Zahl der im Rahmen der öffentlichen Anhörung eingegangenen Stellungnahmen und der Komplexität der zu bewertenden Themen um drei Monate verlängert.

Die konsolidierte Stellungnahme des RAC und des SEAC  zu der vorgeschlagenen Beschränkung für bewusst zugesetztes Mikroplastik wird daher für Juni 2020 erwartet.

Beschluss der Europäischen Kommission

Sobald die Stellungnahmen der Ausschüsse erstellt sind, wird die ECHA diese an die Europäische Kommission übermitteln. Die Kommission wird die Stellungnahmen prüfen und feststellen, ob die Bedingungen für die Beschränkung erfüllt sind. Sie wird dann einen Vorschlag zur Änderung von Anhang XVII der REACH-Verordnung ausarbeiten, über den die Mitgliedstaaten im REACH-Ausschuss abstimmen können. Nach der Abstimmung folgt eine Prüfungsphase durch das Europäische Parlament und den Rat, bevor die Beschränkungsmaßnahme angenommen werden kann.

 

 

Planned timetable for proposed restriction of intentionally added microplastics

 

Future timings are tentative

  Timing
Intention to prepare restriction dossier 17 January 2018
Call for evidence 1 March - 1 May 2018
Stakeholder workshop 30 - 31 May 2018
Submission of restriction dossier 11 January 2019
Public consultation of the Annex XV dossier  20 March 2019 –
20 September 2019
RAC opinion March 2020 (expected)
Draft SEAC opinion March 2020 (expected)
Public consultation on draft SEAC opinion March - June 2020
Combined final opinion submitted to the Commission autumn 2020
Draft amendment to the Annex XVII (draft restriction) by Commission Within 3 months of receipt of opinions
Discussions with Member State authorities and vote 2020 - 2021
Scrutiny by Council and European Parliament Before adoption (3 months)
Restriction adopted (if agreed) 2022 (transitional periods are proposed for certain applications)

Microplastics

Image

Plastics, are important materials that are abundant in our economy. They make our lives easier in many ways and are often lighter or cost less than alternative materials. However, if they are not properly disposed of or recycled after they are used, they are often released into that environment where they can persist for long periods and degrade into smaller and smaller pieces, called microplastics, that are of concern. 

Microplastics are very small (typically smaller than 5mm) solid particles composed of mixtures of polymers (the primary components of plastics) and functional additives. They may also contain residual impurities from when they were manufactured. They can be unintentionally formed through the wear and tear of larger pieces of plastic, including synthetic textiles. They can also be deliberately manufactured and intentionally added to products for a specific purpose, for example, as exfoliating beads in facial or body scrubs.

What are the risks for the environment and human health?

Once in the environment, microplastics accumulate in animals, including fish and shellfish, and are consequently consumed as food, including by humans. Prompted by concerns for the environment and human health, several EU Member States have already enacted or proposed national bans on intentional uses of microplastics in certain consumer products, principally uses of ‘microbeads’ in ‘rinse-off’ cosmetic products, where the microplastics are used as abrasive and polishing agents.

Recently, the European Commission published a study that provides further information on the intentional uses of microplastic particles in products and the risks they pose to human health and the environment. The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) has also reviewed the available evidence on micro- and nanoplastics in food.

In line with REACH procedures for restricting substances that pose a risk to the environment or human health, the Commission requested ECHA to assess the scientific evidence for taking regulatory action at the EU level on microplastics that are intentionally added to products of any kind. Other options for reducing the release of microplastics in the aquatic environment are being investigated in another project by the European Commission.

 

In what products can intentionally added microplastics be found?

Intentionally added microplastic particles are used in a range of products placed on the EU market including certain types of fertilisers, plant protection products, leave-on and rinse-off cosmetic products, household and industrial detergents, cleaning products, as well as paints and products used in the oil and gas industry.

In consumer products, microplastic particles are best known for being abrasives (e.g. as exfoliating and polishing agents in cosmetics known as microbeads), but can also have other functions, such as controlling the thickness, appearance and stability of a product. They are even used as glitters or in make-up.

Overall, around 50 000 tonnes of microplastics are estimated to be used in the EU/EEA each year. Around 36 000 tonnes are released to the environment annually (not including releases from infill material used in artificial turfs). 

Proposed restriction by ECHA

Starting in January 2018, ECHA examined the need for an EU-wide restriction on the placing on the market or use of intentionally added microplastic particles through a call for evidence and information, a stakeholder workshop held in May 2018 to discuss key issues related to the restriction, and by undertaking other studies and assessing the information received.

In January 2019, ECHA proposed a wide-ranging restriction on intentional uses of microplastics in products placed on the EU/EEA market to avoid or reduce their release to the environment. The proposal is estimated to cut down emissions by at least 85 % and prevent the release of 400 000 tonnes of microplastics over the 20-year period following its introduction. 

A public consultation on the proposal was open for six months and closed on 20 September 2019, with the submission of 477 individual comments. Details of the public consultation, including non-confidential responses, are available on ECHA’s website.

 

Committee opinions

ECHA’s Committees for Risk Assessment (RAC) and Socio-economic Analysis (SEAC) will take 15 months to adopt their final opinions on the restriction proposal. The standard 12 months reserved for the committees’ opinion formation has been extended by three months due to the high number of comments received through the public consultation and the complexity of the issues to be evaluated.

RAC and SEAC’s  consolidated opinion on the proposed restriction on intentionally added microplastics is, therefore, expected in June 2020.

European Commission decision

Once the Committee opinions are formed, ECHA will send them to the European Commission. The Commission will consider the opinions and whether the conditions for the restriction are met. It will then prepare a proposal to amend Annex XVII to REACH, which Member States can vote on in the REACH Committee. The vote is followed by a period of scrutiny by the European Parliament and the Council before the restriction measure can be adopted.

 

 

Planned timetable for proposed restriction of intentionally added microplastics

 

Future timings are tentative

  Timing
Intention to prepare restriction dossier 17 January 2018
Call for evidence 1 March - 1 May 2018
Stakeholder workshop 30 - 31 May 2018
Submission of restriction dossier 11 January 2019
Public consultation of the Annex XV dossier  20 March 2019 –
20 September 2019
RAC opinion March 2020 (expected)
Draft SEAC opinion March 2020 (expected)
Public consultation on draft SEAC opinion March - June 2020
Combined final opinion submitted to the Commission autumn 2020
Draft amendment to the Annex XVII (draft restriction) by Commission Within 3 months of receipt of opinions
Discussions with Member State authorities and vote 2020 - 2021
Scrutiny by Council and European Parliament Before adoption (3 months)
Restriction adopted (if agreed) 2022 (transitional periods are proposed for certain applications)