Blei in Munition, Kugeln und Angelgerät

Blei wird seit Jahrhunderten in Munition für Jagd- und Sportschießen sowie in Angelgeräten verwendet. Es wird geschätzt, dass pro Jahr durch folgende Verwendungen ca. 100 000 Tonnen Blei in der EU in die Umwelt gelangen: 79 % gehen auf das Sportschießen zurück, 14 % auf die Jagd und 7 % auf Angel- und Fischereiaktivitäten.

Die Verwendung von Bleimunition oder bleihaltigem Angelgerät verursacht bekanntermaßen Bleivergiftungen bei Wildtieren, wie z. B. Vögeln. Außerdem kann die Gesundheit von Menschen beeinträchtigt werden, entweder durch Bleireste, die in Wild vorhanden sind, das mit Bleimunition erlegt wurde, oder wenn Bleimunition, Angelgewichte oder Köder zu Hause hergestellt werden.

Wenn die derzeitige Freisetzung von Blei aus diesen Aktivitäten anhält, würden in den kommenden 20 Jahren ohne weitere Regulierung etwa 1,9 Millionen Tonnen Blei in die Umwelt gelangen.

Was sind die Bedenken?

Blei ist für Menschen und Tiere giftig.

Nur ein sehr geringer Anteil der abgefeuerten Bleimunition trifft ihr Ziel. Der Rest dieser „verbrauchten“ Bleimunition verbleibt in der Umwelt, wo er von Vögeln aufgenommen werden kann, die ihn für Nahrung oder kleine Steine halten, die sie fressen, um das Zermahlen der Nahrung in ihren Kaumägen zu unterstützen. Es ist bekannt, dass viele Wasservogelarten, zum Beispiel Enten, Gänse und Schwäne, gebrauchte Bleimunition schlucken. Auch Angelgerät mit Blei geht oft bei Gebrauch verloren und wirkt sich auf Vögel ebenso aus wie Bleimunition und -geschosse, wenn es gefressen wird. Darüber hinaus fördern einige moderne Angelpraktiken die absichtliche Freisetzung von Bleigewichten im Wasser (das sogenannte „Abwerfen des Bleis“).

Nach dem Verschlucken werden Bleimunition, Gewichte oder Köder schnell in kleine Partikel zermahlen, wodurch das Blei schneller in den Blutkreislauf der Vögel gelangt. In einigen Fällen kann dies zum Tod führen oder subletale Auswirkungen haben. Die Aufnahme eines einzigen Stücks Bleimunition reicht aus, um einen kleinen Wasservogel zu töten. Dieser Expositionsweg wird als „Primärvergiftung“ bezeichnet.

Darüber hinaus fressen Aasfresser oder Raubtiere (einschließlich Vögel) versehentlich Bleifragmente, die sich im Gewebe ihrer Nahrung befinden. Dies schließt Fälle ein, in denen Bleifragmente in den weggeworfenen inneren Organen von Großwild vorhanden sind, die von Jägern nach dem sogenannten „Aufbrechen von Kadavern“ zurückgelassen wurden. Das wird als „Sekundärvergiftung“ bezeichnet und führt bekanntermaßen ebenfalls in vielen Fällen zur Bleivergiftung von Wildtieren.

Die ECHA schätzt, dass in der gesamten EU mindestens 135 Millionen Vögel von einer Bleivergiftung bedroht sind.

Gesundheitsrisiken für den Menschen

Die Exposition gegenüber Blei ist mit einer Reihe negativer gesundheitlicher Auswirkungen verbunden, einschließlich verminderter Fruchtbarkeit, kardiovaskulärer Erkrankungen, entwicklungsbezogener Wirkungen bei Säuglingen und Kindern, Schädigung von Organen durch längere oder wiederholte Exposition und Krebs. Blei ist insbesondere schädlich für die neurologische Entwicklung von Kindern. Die ECHA schätzt, dass jedes Jahr etwa eine Million Kinder durch den Verzehr von Wildfleisch für die toxischen Wirkungen von Blei anfällig sind.

Menschen kommen hauptsächlich über zwei Wege mit Blei in Berührung: Einatmen und Verschlucken. Jäger und Sportschützen können beim Schießen Bleidämpfe und -staub einatmen. Auch Jäger und Angler können giftige Dämpfe einatmen, wenn sie Blei schmelzen, um selbstgemachte Kugeln und Angelgeräte herzustellen. Eine solche Tätigkeit kann auch andere Mitglieder des Haushalts gefährden.

Die Exposition durch Verschlucken erfolgt beim Verzehr von Wildfleisch, das mit Bleimunition erlegt wurde. Jüngste Forschungsergebnisse lassen darauf schließen, dass mit Bleimunition getroffenes Wild mikroskopisch kleine Bleifragmente enthalten kann, die bei der Fleischzubereitung nicht entfernt werden können. Das Verfahren, Fleisch um den Wundkanal herum „wegzuschneiden“ und zu entsorgen oder sichtbare Bleifragmente zu entfernen, reicht nicht aus, um sämtliches Blei zu entfernen. Ein Verschlucken kann auch durch Hand-zu-Mund-Exposition bei der Handhabung von Bleimunition, Projektilen oder Angelgewichten und -ködern erfolgen.

Auf Grundlage klinisch belegter Risiken für Kinder und Schwangere hat die Europäische Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) empfohlen, die Exposition gegenüber Blei sowohl über die Nahrung als auch über andere Quellen zu reduzieren.

Jede Reduzierung der Exposition gegenüber Blei über die Nahrung senkt das Risiko für die menschliche Gesundheit, insbesondere für Kinder und Erwachsene, die regelmäßig Wildfleisch essen. Mehrere Lebensmittelbehörden in den EU-Mitgliedstaaten raten ihren Bürgern bereits, mit Blei gejagtes Wild in Maßen zu essen. So rät die französische Agentur für Lebensmittel, Umwelt- und Arbeitsschutz (ANSES) der Öffentlichkeit, mit Bleimunition erlegtes Wild nicht öfter als dreimal im Jahr zu verzehren, und dass Kinder und schwangere Frauen überhaupt kein mit Bleimunition erlegtes Wildfleisch essen sollten.

Es gibt keine Hinweise darauf, dass der Verzehr von mit bleihaltigem Angelgerät gefangenen Fischen zu einer Exposition gegenüber Blei führt.

Alternativen zu Blei

Die Beschränkung von bleihaltiger Munition ist nichts Neues. In vielen EU-Mitgliedstaaten bzw. Regionen innerhalb von Mitgliedstaaten gelten bereits Verbote für bestimmte Arten von Munition. Die Erfahrungen aus diesen Ländern haben gezeigt, dass Jäger und Sportschützen sich an die Verwendung von Alternativen anpassen konnten, ohne dass wesentliche Probleme in Bezug auf Querschläger oder Sicherheitsfragen aufgetreten sind.

Studien zeigen, dass die Wirksamkeit von bleifreien Geschossen (in großen Kalibern) die gleiche ist wie bei Bleigeschossen und dass die ethische Jagd mit bleifreien Alternativen gewährleistet werden kann.

Munition aus Stahl

Die Leistungsfähigkeit von Munition aus Stahl hat sich seit deren Einführung erheblich verbessert. Feldstudien haben gezeigt, dass Jäger, die Stahlmunition verwenden, dieselben Ergebnisse erzielen können wie mit Bleimunition. Die effektive Schussdistanz für moderne Stahlmunition entspricht der typischen Reichweite, in der üblicherweise gejagt wird. Für einige Arten größeren Wildgeflügels, wie z. B. Gänse, sind unter Umständen mit Hochleistungs-Stahlpatronen kompatible Schrotflinten erforderlich.

Untersuchungen zeigen, dass Querschläger sowohl mit Stahl- als auch mit Bleimunition auftreten. Die Erfahrungen aus Dänemark sowie die Forschung aus Deutschland weisen darauf hin, dass sich das Unfall- oder Verletzungsrisiko durch Querschläger bei Verwendung von Stahlmunition im Vergleich zu Blei nicht erhöht.

Die aktuellen Preise für Stahl- und Bleimunition sind vergleichbar.

Munition aus Wismut und Wolfram

Als Alternative zu Bleimunition können auch Schrotkugeln auf Wismut- oder Wolframbasis verwendet werden. Sie können in jeder Schrotflinte verwendet werden, auch in alten Schrotflinten, die möglicherweise nicht für die Verwendung mit Stahlschrot geeignet sind.

Bismut- und wolframbasierte Schrotpatronen sind derzeit etwa vier- bis fünfmal teurer als Bleischrotpatronen. Sie werden wahrscheinlich auch teurer bleiben als Blei- (und Stahl-) Schrotpatronen, da sie in weitaus geringeren Mengen produziert, verkauft und verwendet werden.

Gewehrmunition

Bleifreie Gewehrmunition ist auf dem europäischen Markt in zahlreichen Kalibern erhältlich, die für die meisten Jagdsituationen in Europa geeignet sind. Mindestens 13 große europäische Firmen stellen bleifreie Geschosse für verschiedene Gewehrkaliber her.

Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass bleifreie Geschosse zu etwas höheren Kosten erworben werden können, aber es ist nicht zu erwarten, dass die Preiserhöhung die Jagd oder das Sportschießen einschränken wird.

Angelgewichte und Köder

Auch zu Bleigewichten und -ködern gibt es mehrere Alternativen, wie z. B. solche aus Zinn, Wolfram, Glas oder verschiedenen Legierungen. ;

Müssen vorhandene Schrotflinten und Gewehre ersetzt werden?

Die verfügbaren Daten, auch von großen Schrotflintenherstellern, deuten darauf hin, dass Standard-Stahlschrot in den meisten standardgeprüften Flinten verwendet werden kann. Wismut- und Wolframladungen können in jeder beliebigen Schrotflinte verwendet werden.

Jäger, die Stahlmunition verwenden, müssen die „Zweierregel“ anwenden und zwei Munitionsgrößen kleiner wählen, um pro Schrotkugel dieselbe Energie wie bei Blei zu erhalten. Zum Jagen von Gänsen und Vögeln, die ähnlich groß oder größer sind, ist mehr Energie pro Schrotkugel erforderlich, was die Verwendung von „Hochleistungs“-Gewehrpatronen aus Stahl notwendig machen kann. Wenn eine Schrotflinte nicht mit der Lilie („Fleur-de-Lis“) gekennzeichnet ist, wird empfohlen, bei einem Waffenschmied prüfen zu lassen, ob die Schrotflinte mit Hochleistungs-Gewehrpatronen aus Stahl kompatibel ist.

Informationen von Herstellern und Hinweise von Jagdverbänden haben gezeigt, dass Jäger, die auf bleifreie Großkaliber-Gewehrmunition umsteigen wollen, keine neuen Waffen kaufen müssen.

Von der ECHA vorgeschlagene Beschränkung

Im Juli 2019 forderte die Europäische Kommission die ECHA auf, die Verwendung von Blei in Munition und in der Fischerei zu untersuchen und bei Bedarf Beschränkungen vorzuschlagen. Der Antrag ist eine Ergänzung zur Beschränkung der Verwendung von Bleimunition in Feuchtgebieten. Die Untersuchung umfasst folgende Themen:

Jagd:

  • Jagd mit Munition (außerhalb von Feuchtgebieten)
  • Jagen mit kleinkalibrigen Geschossen
  • Jagen mit großkalibrigen Geschossen

Sportschießen:

  • Sportschießen im Freien mit Munition (außerhalb von Feuchtgebieten)
  • Sportschießen im Freien mit Kugeln
  • Sonstiges Schießen im Freien mit Luftgewehr/Feuerwaffe/Pistole

Schießen mit historischen Waffen:

  • Sonstige Schießaktivitäten im Freien, einschl. Vorderlader, Historiendarstellungen

Fischerei

  • Blei in Angelgewichten und Ködern
  • Blei in Fischernetzen, Seilen und Leinen (wo Blei verarbeitet ist)

Militärische Verwendungen von Bleimunition, zusammen mit anderen nicht-zivilen Verwendungen von Bleimunition, wie z. B. durch Polizei und Zollkräfte, sind nicht im Umfang der Untersuchung enthalten. Die Verwendung von Bleimunition in Innenräumen ist ebenfalls ausgeschlossen.

Die Agentur trug mittels einer Konsultation, die von Oktober bis Dezember 2019 dauerte, Daten zur Unterstützung ihrer Untersuchung zusammen. Die ECHA hat den Vorschlag am 15. Januar 2021 eingereicht.

Vorschlag zur Beschränkung

Nach der Bewertung aller Verwendungen von Blei, die in den Geltungsbereich des Antrags der Kommission fallen, kam die ECHA zu dem Schluss, dass von diesen Verwendungen Risiken für Wildtiere, Nutztiere, die Umwelt und die menschliche Gesundheit ausgehen, die nicht ausreichend kontrolliert werden und auf EU-Ebene angegangen werden müssen. Diese Schlussfolgerung steht im Einklang mit der Beschränkung der Verwendung von Bleischrot in Feuchtgebieten und anderen Beschränkungen für Blei.

Verschiedene Optionen zur Bewältigung der Risiken wurden im Hinblick auf ihre Effektivität und Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft bewertet. Die folgende Beschränkung wird - unterteilt nach Verwendungssektoren - vorgeschlagen:

Verwendungssektor Vorgeschlagene Beschränkungsmöglichkeiten
Jagd
Jagd mit Stahlmunition (außerhalb von Feuchtgebieten) Verbot des Inverkehrbringens und der Verwendung (mit einer fünfjährigen Übergangsfrist)
+ Verpflichtung zur Information der Verbraucher über das Bleirisiko und die Verfügbarkeit von Alternativen am Verkaufsort (Informationspflicht)
Jagen mit kleinkalibrigen Bleigeschossen (<5.6 mm centrefire)d>Verwendungsverbot (mit fünfjähriger Übergangsfrist) +
Informationspflicht
+ Pflicht zur Kennzeichnung des Produkts, um die Verbraucher über die Risiken von Blei und verfügbare Alternativen zu informieren (Kennzeichnungspflicht)
Jagen mit großkalibrigen Bleigeschossen (> 5,6 mm) Verwendungsverbot (mit einer 18-monatigen Übergangsfrist) +
Informationspflicht
+ Kennzeichnungspflicht
Sportschießen im Freien und Schießen mit historischen Waffen
Sportschießen mit Bleimunition

BEVORZUGTE OPTION: Verbot des Inverkehrbringens und der Verwendung (mit einer fünfjährigen Übergangsfrist)
+ Informationspflicht

ERGÄNZENDE OPTION: Bedingte Ausnahmeregelung unter strengen Auflagen +
Kennzeichnungspflicht
+ Berichtspflicht für die Mitgliedstaaten, damit die Kommission die Verwendung von Bleimunition überwachen kann

Sportschießen mit Bleigeschossen und mit Luftgewehren, Feuerwaffen oder Pistolen
Verbot der Verwendung, wenn am Schießplatz keine Kugelfänge vorhanden sind (mit Übergangsfristen je nach Kalibergröße:
  • Kleine Kaliber: fünf Jahre
  • Große Kaliber: 18 Monate)
+ Informationspflicht
+ Kennzeichnungspflicht
Schießen mit historischen Waffen, z. B. Vorderlader und historische Inszenierungen.
Fischerei
Blei in Angelgewichten und Ködern
Verbot des Inverkehrbringens und der Verwendung (mit Übergangsfristen je nach Art und Gewicht:
  • Gewichte und Köder ≤ 50 g: drei Jahre)
  • Gewichte und Köder > 50 g: fünf Jahre)
  • Rute: keine Übergangszeit)
+ Verbot der Verwendung mit Absetztechniken (keine Übergangszeit)
+ Informationspflicht
Blei in Fischernetzen, Seilen und Leinen Keine Beschränkung vorgeschlagen


Das Ziel der vorgeschlagenen Beschränkung ist es nicht, die Jagd, das Sportschießen oder das Fischen zu verbieten.

Die Agentur erkennt an, dass z. B. die Jagd in verschiedenen Regionen der EU erhebliche soziale, kulturelle, wirtschaftliche und ökologische Vorteile bietet und eine Rolle beim Naturschutz spielt.

Es wird geschätzt, dass die vorgeschlagene Beschränkung die Bleiemissionen über einen Zeitraum von 20 Jahren nach ihrer Einführung um etwa 1,5 Millionen Tonnen reduzieren könnte. Dies wäre eine Reduzierung von 78 % im Vergleich zur Situation ohne die vorgeschlagene Beschränkung.

Außerdem würde eine Beschränkung von Blei in der von der ECHA vorgeschlagenen Weise die Kinder von Haushalten schützen, die sehr häufig Wildfleisch essen. Es wird angenommen, dass durch ein Verbot von großkalibrigen Geschossen und Bleischrot der IQ-Verlust bei bis zu 7 000 Kindern pro Jahr vermieden werden könnte.

Nach der Analyse der ECHA werden die Gesamtkosten der Beschränkung auf bis zu 12 Milliarden EUR über 20 Jahre nach Inkrafttreten geschätzt. Die Kosten, die der Gesellschaft durch die Vermeidung der Freisetzung von einem Kilogramm Blei in die Umwelt entstehen, liegen zwischen 0,5 EUR und 1 513 EUR.

Eine sechsmonatige Konsultationzu diesem Vorschlag begann am 24. März 2021. Während der Konsultation können alle Beteiligten ihre Argumente für oder gegen den Vorschlag vorbringen. Diese Argumente Dritter können den Vorschlag ändern, wenn sie durch solide wissenschaftliche Beweise untermauert sind.

Stellungnahmen der Ausschüsse

Die Ausschüsse für Risikobeurteilung (RAC) und sozioökonomische Analyse (SEAC) der ECHA haben 12 Monate Zeit, die Stärken und Schwächen des Vorschlags zu bewerten und ihre Stellungnahmen abzugeben. In ihren Stellungnahmen berücksichtigen sie die während der Konsultation eingegangenen Kommentare. Der Entwurf der Stellungnahme des SEAC wird einer weiteren 60-tägigen Konsultation unterzogen, bevor er angenommen wird.

Die konsolidierte Stellungnahme sowohl des RAC als auch des SEAC zum Beschränkungsvorschlag wird bis Mitte 2022 erwartet.

Entscheidung der Europäischen Kommission und der EU-Mitgliedstaaten

Sobald die wissenschaftliche Bewertung des Vorschlags abgeschlossen ist, wird erwartet, dass die Kommission ihren Legislativvorschlag im Anschluss an den Bericht der ECHA und die gemeinsame Stellungnahme der Ausschüsse ausarbeitet. Der Vorschlag der Kommission zur Änderung des Verzeichnisses der Stoffe mit eingeschränkter Verwendung gemäß Anhang XVII der REACH-Verordnung wird den EU-Mitgliedstaaten im REACH-Ausschuss zur Abstimmung vorgelegt.

Bevor eine Beschränkung angenommen werden kann, muss sie vom Europäischen Parlament und vom Rat geprüft werden.

Beschränkung der Verwendung von Bleimunition in Feuchtgebieten

Im Januar 2021 hat die Europäische Kommission eine Beschränkung für die Verwendung von Bleischrot in Feuchtgebieten in der gesamten EU beschlossen. Sie wird ab dem 15. Februar 2023 in allen 27 EU-Mitgliedstaaten gelten. Diese Beschränkung erlaubt es den Mitgliedstaaten auch, Bleimunition in allen Gebieten zu verbieten, wenn 20 % oder mehr des Landesgebiets Feuchtgebiete sind. In diesem Fall gilt die Beschränkung ab dem 15. Februar 2024.

Diese EU-weite Beschränkung harmonisiert die nationale Gesetzgebung, die in 23 EU-Mitgliedstaaten in unterschiedlicher Form bereits besteht, und führt in vier EU-Mitgliedstaaten zu einer neuen Gesetzgebung. Sie setzt auch das internationale Abkommen (AEWA) zum Schutz von Feuchtgebietsvögeln in der EU um.

Es wird erwartet, dass die Beschränkung von Bleimunition in Feuchtgebieten die Umwelt durch eine deutliche Verringerung der Bleiverschmutzung schützt und den vermeidbaren Tod durch Bleivergiftung von etwa einer Million Wasservögeln pro Jahr verhindert.

Die Beschränkung basiert auf der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit der ECHA und ihrer Ausschüsse für Risikobewertung und sozioökonomische Analyse. Die ECHA hat ihren Vorschlag (Anhang XV-Dossier) im April 2017 zur Bewertung eingereicht. Im August 2018 waren die Stellungnahmen der wissenschaftlichen Ausschüsse der ECHA zu dem Vorschlag fertig und wurden an die Europäische Kommission übermittelt.

Podcast interviews with stakeholders

We interviewed representatives from different organisations during an event organised by ECHA where stakeholders shared their views on a potential restriction on the use of lead in ammunition for hunting and sports shooting.

Ruth Cromie - Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust (WWT)
 

 

Niels Kanstrup - Danish Hunting Academy
 

 

Nina Mikander - African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbird Agreement (AEWA)
 

 

David Scallan - European Federation for Hunting and Conservation (FACE)
 

 

Hans Steinkellner - European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)
 

 

Philip Taylor - ELEY Limited (Ammunition manufacturer)
 

 

Planned timetable for restriction proposal for lead in shot in terrains other than wetland, other ammunition and fishing tackle

 

Future timings are tentative

  Lead in shot in terrains other than wetland, other ammunition and fishing tackle
Intention to prepare restriction dossier 3 October 2019
Call for evidence 3 October 2019 –
16 December 2019
Submission of restriction dossier 15 January 2021
Consultation of the Annex XV dossier (if conformity is passed) 24 March 2021 24 September 2021
RAC opinion Q4 2021
Draft SEAC opinion Q4 2021
Consultation on draft SEAC opinion Q1 2022
Combined final opinion submitted to the Commission Q2 2022
Draft amendment to the Annex XVII (draft restriction) by Commission Within 3 months of receipt of opinions
Discussions with Member State authorities and vote Q3/Q4 2022
Scrutiny by Council and European Parliament Before adoption (3 months)
Restriction adopted (if agreed) Q1/Q2 2023
 

Categories Display

Lead in shot, bullets and fishing weights

Lead has been commonly used in ammunition for hunting and sports shooting and in fishing tackle for centuries. It is estimated that each year around 100 000 tonnes of lead is dispersed into the EU environment from these uses: 79 % from sports shooting, 14 % from hunting and 7 % from fishing activities.

The use of lead ammunition or fishing tackle containing lead is known to cause lead poisoning of wildlife, such as birds. People’s health may also be affected by the residual lead present in game killed using lead ammunition, or when making lead ammunition or fishing sinkers or lures at home.

If the current releases of lead from these activities continue, approximately 1.9 million tonnes of lead would be released to the environment over the next 20 years.

What are the concerns?

Lead is a substance toxic to people and wildlife.

Only a very small proportion of lead gunshot fired will hit its target. The remainder of this ‘spent’ lead gunshot spreads into the environment where it can be ingested by birds that mistake it for food or for small stones that they eat to help them grind food in their gizzards. Ingestion of spent lead gunshot is well known in many species of waterbirds, for example, ducks, geese and swans. Lead fishing tackle is also frequently lost during use and affects birds in the same way as lead gunshot and bullets, if ingested. In addition, some contemporary fishing practices encourage the deliberate release of lead sinkers to water (called ‘dropping the lead’).

After ingestion, lead gunshot, sinker or lure is rapidly ground down into small particles, which speeds up the absorption of lead in the birds’ bloodstream. In some cases, this can result in death or in sublethal effects. Ingestion of a single lead gunshot is enough to kill a small waterbird. This route of exposure is called primary poisoning.

In addition, scavenging or predatory animals (including birds) inadvertently eat fragments of lead that are in the tissues of their food. This includes cases where lead fragments are present in the discarded internal organs of large game left behind by hunters after ‘field dressing’. This is called secondary poisoning and is also known to frequently cause lead poisoning in wildlife.

ECHA estimates that at least 135 million birds are at risk of lead poisoning throughout the EU.

Health risks to people

Exposure to lead is associated with a wide range of negative health effects, including reduced fertility, cardiovascular diseases, developmental effects in babies and children, damage to organs through prolonged or repeated exposure and cancer. Lead is especially harmful to children's neurological development. ECHA estimates that in any given year about one million children are vulnerable to the toxic effects of lead due to game meat consumption.

People are exposed to lead mainly through two routes: inhalation and ingestion. Hunters and sports shooters can breathe in lead fumes and dust while shooting. Hunters and fishers can also inhale toxic fumes if they melt lead to prepare homemade bullets and fishing tackle. Such activity may also put other members of the household at risk.

Exposure to lead through ingestion happens while eating game meat hunted with lead ammunition. Recent research suggests that game hunted with lead ammunition can contain microscopic fragments of lead, which cannot be removed during the preparation of meat. The practice of ‘cutting away’ and discarding meat from around the wound channel, or removing visible lead fragments, is not sufficient to remove all lead. Ingestion may also happen through hand-to-mouth exposure when manipulating lead gunshot, projectiles or fishing sinkers and lures.

Based on the clinical evidence of risks to children and pregnant women, the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) has recommended that exposure to lead from both dietary and non-dietary sources should be reduced.

Any reduction of lead exposure through food will reduce risks to people’s health, particularly for children and adults who regularly eat game meat. Several food agencies in EU Member States already advise their citizens to eat game hunted with lead in moderation. For example, the French Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety (ANSES) advises the general public not to eat game killed with lead ammunition more than three times a year and that children and pregnant women should not eat game meat hunted with lead ammunition at all.

There is no evidence that eating fish caught with lead tackle will result in exposure to lead.

 

Alternatives to lead

Restricting lead-based ammunition is nothing new. Many EU Member States, or regions within Member States, already have bans for certain kinds of ammunition in place. Experience from those countries has shown that hunters and sports shooters have been able to adapt to using alternatives without significant problems in relation to ricochet or safety.

Studies show that the effectiveness of non-lead bullets (in large calibres) is the same as for lead bullets and that ethical hunting can be ensured with lead-free alternatives.

Steel gunshot

The effectiveness of steel gunshot has improved significantly since its introduction. Field studies have shown that hunters using steel gunshot can achieve the same results as with lead gunshot. The effective shooting distance for modern steel gunshot is consistent with the typical range used for hunting. For some species of larger waterfowl, such as geese, shotguns compatible with ‘high-performance’ steel cartridges might be required.

Research shows that ricochet occurs in both steel and lead gunshot. Experience from Denmark as well as research from Germany indicates that there is no increase in the risk of accidents or injuries from ricochet when using steel gunshot compared to lead.

Current prices for steel and lead gunshot are comparable.

Bismuth and tungsten gunshot

Bismuth or tungsten-based gunshot can also be used as alternatives to lead gunshot. They can be used in any shotgun, including vintage shotguns that may not be suitable for use with steel gunshot.

Bismuth and tungsten-based gunshot cartridges are currently about four to five times more expensive than lead gunshot cartridges. They are also likely to remain more expensive than lead (and steel) gunshot cartridges as they are produced, sold and used in far lower volumes.

Rifle ammunition

Non-lead rifle ammunition is available on the European market in a wide range of calibres suitable for most European hunting situations. At least 13 major European companies make non-lead bullets for different rifle calibres.

To summarise, lead-free bullets can be purchased at slightly higher costs, but the price increase is not expected to restrict hunting or sports shooting activities.

Fishing sinkers and lures

Multiple alternatives are also available to lead sinkers and lures, such as those made with tin, tungsten, glass or various alloys.  

 

Will existing shotguns and rifles need to be replaced?

The available evidence, including from major shotgun manufacturers, suggests that standard steel shot can be used in most standard proofed shotguns. Bismuth and tungsten loads can be used in any shotgun.

Hunters using steel gunshot need to apply the ‘rule of two’ and select two shot sizes smaller to have the equivalent energy as lead per pellet. For hunting geese and birds of similar or larger size, more energy per pellet is required and this may require the use of ‘high-performance’ steel gunshot cartridges. Unless marked with ‘fleur-de-lis’, it is recommended to check with a gunsmith whether a shotgun is compatible with high-performance steel gunshot cartridges.

Information from manufacturers and guidance from hunting associations have shown that hunters who want to switch to large calibre non-lead rifle ammunition do not need to purchase new guns.

 

ECHA's proposed restriction

In July 2019, the European Commission requested ECHA to investigate the use of lead in ammunition and in fishing and propose restrictions, where needed. The request is complementary to the restriction on the use of lead gunshot in wetlands. The scope of the investigation was the following:

Hunting:

  • Hunting with gunshot (outside of wetlands)
  • Hunting with small calibre bullets
  • Hunting with large calibre bullets

Sports shooting:

  • Outdoor sports shooting with gunshot (outside of wetlands)
  • Outdoor sports shooting with bullets
  • Other outdoor shooting using air rifles/guns/pistols

Shooting with historical weapons:

  • Other outdoor shooting activities incl. muzzle-loaders, historical re-enactments

Fishing

  • Lead in fishing sinkers and lures
  • Lead in fishing nets, ropes and lines (where lead is embedded)

Military uses of lead ammunition, along with other non-civilian uses of lead ammunition such as by police and customs forces, are outside of the scope of the investigation. Indoor uses of lead ammunition are also excluded.

The Agency collected information to support its investigation through a call for evidence, which ran from October to December 2019. ECHA submitted the proposal on 15 January 2021.

Restriction proposal

After assessing all the uses of lead within the scope of the Commission’s request, ECHA concluded that there are risks from these uses to wildlife, livestock, the environment and human health that are not adequately controlled and which need to be addressed at EU level. This conclusion is consistent with the restriction on the use of lead gunshot in wetlands and other restrictions on lead.

Various options to address the risks were assessed in terms of their effectiveness and impact to society. The following restriction is proposed – divided by sectors of use:

Sector of use Proposed restriction option
Hunting
Hunting with lead gunshot (outside of wetlands) Ban on placing on the market and using (with a five-year transition period)
+ Obligation to inform consumers about the risk of lead and availability of alternatives at the point of sale (information obligation)
Hunting with small calibre lead bullets (<5.6 mm centrefire) Ban on using (with a five-year transition)
+ Information obligation
+ Obligation to label the product to inform consumers of the risks of lead and available alternatives (labelling obligation)
Hunting with large calibre lead bullets (>5.6 mm) Ban on using (with an 18-month transition)
+ Information obligation
+ Labelling obligation
Outdoor sports shooting and shooting with historical weapons
Sports shooting with lead gunshot

PREFERRED OPTION: Ban on placing on the market and using (with a five-year transition)
+ Information obligation

COMPLEMENTARY OPTION: Conditional derogation under strict conditions
+ Labelling obligation
+ Reporting obligation for Member States to allow the Commission to monitor the use of lead gunshot

Sports shooting with lead bullets and with air rifles, guns or pistols
Ban on using unless there are bullet traps at the shooting location (with transition periods depending on the calibre size:
  • Small calibre: five years
  • Large calibre: 18 months)
+ Information obligation
+ Labelling obligation
Shooting with historical weapons e.g. muzzle-loaders and historical re-enactments
Fishing
Lead in fishing sinkers and lures
Ban on placing on the market and using (with transition periods depending on the type and weight:
  • Sinkers and lures ≤ 50 g: three years)
  • Sinkers and lures > 50 g: five years)
  • Wire: no transition period)
+ Ban on the use with drop off techniques (no transition period)
+ Information obligation
Lead in fishing nets, ropes and lines No restriction proposed


The aim of the proposed restriction is not to ban hunting, sports shooting or fishing.

The Agency acknowledges that, for example, hunting provides significant social, cultural, economic and environmental benefits in different regions of the EU and recognises its role in nature conservation.

The proposed restriction is estimated to reduce lead emissions by approximately 1.5 million tonnes over 20 years following its introduction. This is a reduction of 78 % compared to a situation without the proposed restriction.

Additionally, restricting lead in the way suggested by ECHA would protect the children of households that very frequently eat game meat. It is assumed that banning large-calibre bullets and lead gunshot could avoid IQ loss in up to 7 000 children per year. 

According to ECHA’s analysis, the total cost of the restriction is estimated to be up to EUR 12 billion over 20 years following the entry into force. The cost to society of avoiding the release of one kilogram of lead to the environment ranges between EUR 0.5 and EUR 1 513.

A six-month consultation on the proposal started on 24 March 2021. During the consultation, all stakeholders can provide their arguments supporting or against the proposal. These third-party arguments can change the proposal if they are backed by robust scientific evidence. 

 

Committee opinions

ECHA’s Committees for Risk Assessment (RAC) and Socio-Economic Analysis (SEAC) have 12 months to evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the proposal and adopt their opinions. In their opinions, they take into account the comments received during the consultation. The draft opinion of SEAC will be subject to a further 60-day consultation before it is adopted.

The consolidated opinion of both RAC and SEAC on the restriction proposal is expected by mid-2022.

 

Decision by the European Commission and EU Member States

Once the scientific evaluation of the proposal is done, the Commission is expected to prepare its legislative proposal following ECHA’s report and the committees’ combined opinion. The Commission’s proposal to amend the list of substances restricted under Annex XVII to REACH will be submitted to a vote by the EU Member States in the REACH Committee.

Before any restriction can be adopted, it is scrutinised by the European Parliament and the Council.

 

Restriction on the use of lead gunshot in wetlands

In January 2021, the European Commission adopted a restriction on the use of lead gunshot in wetlands across the EU. It will apply from 15 February 2023 onwards in all 27 EU Member States. This restriction also allows Member States to ban lead gunshot in all areas if 20 % or more of the country’s territory is wetlands. In this case, the restriction applies from 15 February 2024.

This EU-wide restriction harmonises the national legislation already in place in various forms in 23 EU Member States and introduces new legislation in four EU Member States. It also implements the international agreement (AEWA) to protect wetland birds in the EU.

It is expected that restricting lead gunshot in wetland areas will protect the environment by significantly reducing lead pollution and will prevent the avoidable death by lead poisoning of around one million waterbirds every year.

The restriction is based on the scientific work of ECHA and its Committees for Risk Assessment and Socio-Economic Analysis. ECHA submitted its proposal (Annex XV dossier) for evaluation in April 2017. In August 2018, the opinions of ECHA’s scientific committees on the proposal were ready and sent to the European Commission.

Podcast interviews with stakeholders

We interviewed representatives from different organisations during an event organised by ECHA where stakeholders shared their views on a potential restriction on the use of lead in ammunition for hunting and sports shooting.

Ruth Cromie - Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust (WWT)
 

 

Niels Kanstrup - Danish Hunting Academy
 

 

Nina Mikander - African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbird Agreement (AEWA)
 

 

David Scallan - European Federation for Hunting and Conservation (FACE)
 

 

Hans Steinkellner - European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)
 

 

Philip Taylor - ELEY Limited (Ammunition manufacturer)
 

 

Planned timetable for restriction proposal for lead in shot in terrains other than wetland, other ammunition and fishing tackle

 

Future timings are tentative

  Lead in shot in terrains other than wetland, other ammunition and fishing tackle
Intention to prepare restriction dossier 3 October 2019
Call for evidence 3 October 2019 –
16 December 2019
Submission of restriction dossier 15 January 2021
Consultation of the Annex XV dossier (if conformity is passed) 24 March 2021 24 September 2021
RAC opinion, draft SEAC opinion March 2022
Consultation on draft SEAC opinion Q2 2022
Combined final opinion  June 2022
Draft amendment to the Annex XVII (draft restriction) by Commission Within 3 months of receipt of opinions
Discussions with Member State authorities and vote Q1/Q2 2023
Scrutiny by Council and European Parliament Before adoption (3 months)
Restriction adopted (if agreed) Q3/Q4 2023