Registration Dossier

Administrative data

Key value for chemical safety assessment

Additional information

The potential of DIBENZYL TRITHIOCARBONATE to induce reverse mutation inSalmonella typhimurium(strains: TA 1535, TA 1537, TA 98, TA 100 and TA 102) was evaluated in accordance with the international guidelines (OECD 471, Commission Directive No. B13/14) in compliance with the Principles of Good Laboratory Practice.

DIBENZYL TRITHIOCARBONATE was tested in two independent experiments, with and without a metabolic activation system, both performed according to the direct plate incorporation method except for the second test with S9 mix, which was performed according to the preincubation method (60 minutes, 37°C). Bacterias were exposed to DIBENZYL TRITHIOCARBONATE at six dose-levels (three plates/dose-level) selected from a preliminary toxicity test: 31.3 to 500 μg/plate without S9 and 62.5 to 1000 µg/plate for the TA 1535, TA 1537 and TA 98 strains in the first experiment with S9 or 31.3 to 500 µg/plate for the TA 100 and TA 102 strains in the first experiment as for all the strains in the second with S9. After 48 to 72 hours of incubation at 37°C, the revertant colonies were scored.

The number of revertants for the vehicle and positive controls was as specified in the acceptance criteria. The study was therefore considered valid. DIBENZYL TRITHIOCARBONATE did not induce any noteworthy increase in the number of revertants, both with and without S9 mix, in any of the five strains.

Under these experimental conditions, DIBENZYL TRITHIOCARBONATE did not show any mutagenic activity in the bacterial reverse mutation test withSalmonella typhimurium.

Short description of key information:
DIBENZYL TRITHIOCARBONATE did not show mutagenic activity in the bacterial reverse mutation test with Salmonella typhimurium

Endpoint Conclusion: No adverse effect observed (negative)

Justification for classification or non-classification

No classification is warranted according to REGULATION (EC) No 1272/2008 OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL of 16 December 2008.