The European Chemicals Agency comprises:

  • A Management Board, responsible for adopting the financial planning, work programme, and annual reporting of the Agency, inter alia. 
  • An Executive Director: the legal representative of the Agency, responsible for the day to day management and administration of the Agency, including responsibility over its finances. The Executive Director reports to the Management Board. 
  •  A Member State Committee, to resolve differences of opinion on draft decisions proposed by the Agency or Member States and to make proposals for identification of substances of very high concern.
  • Risk Assessment Committee, to prepare opinions on evaluation, on applications for authorisation, on proposals for restrictions and on classification and labelling.
  •  A Committee for Socio-economic Analysis, to prepare opinions on applications for authorisation, on proposals for restrictions and on questions relating to the socio-economic impact of proposed legislative action.
  • Forum on enforcement matters, to coordinate a network of Member State competent authorities responsible for enforcement.
  • Biocidal Products Committee, to prepare opinions on applications for approval and renewal of active substances, identification of active substances which are candidates for substitution, applications for inclusion in Annex I, applications for Union authorisation, scientific and technical matters concerning mutual recognition.
  •  A Secretariat, under the leadership of the Executive Director, to support the Committees and Forum, and to undertake work on registration and evaluation processes as well as the preparation of guidance, maintenance of databases and provision of information.
  • Board of Appeal, to decide on appeals against decisions taken by the Agency.

Please click on the boxes to see the relevant unit statements.

Executive Director Bjorn Hansen EXECUTIVE DIRECTORBjorn Hansen Management Board Paul Krajnik MANAGEMENT BOARDPaul Krajnik Board of Appeal BoA Antoine Buchet BOARD OF APPEALBOAAntoine Buchet Communications A1 Johanna Salomaa-Valkamo COMMUNICATIONSA1Johanna Salomaa-Valkamo Hazard Assessment C Christel Musset HAZARD ASSESSMENTCChristel Musset Submissions and Interaction A Jukka Malm SUBMISSIONS AND INTERACTIONAJukka Malm Submission and Processing A3 Tiago Pedrosa SUBMISSION AND PROCESSINGA3Tiago Pedrosa Risk Management D Peter van der Zandt RISK MANAGEMENTDPeter van der Zandt Information Systems I Orion Andrews, Acting Director INFORMATION SYSTEMSIOrion Andrews, Acting Director Resources R Shay O’Malley RESOURCESRShay OMalley Committee for Socio-Economic Analysis SEAC Maria Ottati COMMITTEE FOR SOCIO-ECONOMIC ANALYSISSEACMaria Ottati Enforcement Forum FORUM Katja vom Hofe ENFORCEMENT FORUMFORUMKatja vom Hofe Member State Committee MSC Watze de Wolf MEMBER STATE COMMITTEEMSCWatze de Wolf Committee for Risk Assessment RAC Tim Bowmer COMMITTEE FOR RISK ASSESSMENTRACTim Bowmer ORGANISATION CHART ORGANISATION CHART Biocidal Products Committee BPC Erik van de Plassche BIOCIDAL PRODUCTS COMMITTEEBPCErik van de Plassche Deputy Executive Director Jukka Malm DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTORJukka Malm * The quality management function forms part of the Governanc... * The quality management function forms part of the Governance, Strategy and Relations Unit Prioritisation and Integration B Jack de Bruijn PRIORITISATION AND INTEGRATIONBJack de Bruijn Prioritisation B3 Elina Karhu PRIORITISATIONB3Elina Karhu Ver 4.0/2021 Ver 4.0/2021 Support and Enforcement A2 Erwin Annys SUPPORT AND ENFORCEMENTA2Erwin Annys Data Availability A4 Annika Mälkiä DATA AVAILABILITYA4Annika Mälkiä Computational Assessment B2 Mercedes Viñas COMPUTATIONAL ASSESSMENT B2Mercedes Viñas Exposure and Supply Chain B4 Kevin Pollard EXPOSURE AND SUPPLY CHAIN B4Kevin Pollard Chemistry B1 Jos Mossink CHEMISTRYB1Jos Mossink Hazard I C1 Mike Rasenberg HAZARD IC1Mike Rasenberg Hazard III C3 Ofelia Bercaru HAZARD III C3Ofelia Bercaru Hazard II C2 Wim De Coen HAZARD IIC2Wim De Coen Hazard IV C4 Sampo Karkola HAZARD IV C4Sampo Karkola Biocidal Products D2 Hugues Kenigswald BIOCIDAL PRODUCTSD2Hugues Kenigswald Biocidal Active Substances D1 Claudio Carlon BIOCIDAL ACTIVE SUBSTANCES D1Claudio Carlon Risk Management I D3 Mark Blainey RISK MANAGEMENT I D3Mark Blainey Risk Management II D4 Matti Vainio RISK MANAGEMENT II D4Matti Vainio IT Infrastructure and Support I1 Loukas Georgiou IT INFRASTRUCTURE AND SUPPORT I1Loukas Georgiou Business Information Systems I2 Fabrizio Francioso BUSINESS INFORMATION SYSTEMS I2Fabrizio Francioso Management Information Systems I3 Orion Andrews MANAGEMENT INFORMATION SYSTEMS I3Orion Andrews Finance R1 Tuula Hakala FINANCE R1Tuula Hakala Human Resources R2 Eric Rieger HUMAN RESOURCES R2Eric Rieger Corporate Services R3 John Wickham CORPORATE SERVICES R3John Wickham Registry of the Board of Appeal RBoA Alen Močilnikar REGISTRY OF THE BOARD OF APPEALRBOAAlen Močilnikar ECHA Bodies ECHA Bodies Executive Director Executive Director Unit Unit Staff Staff Legal Affairs E2 Minna Heikkilä LEGAL AFFAIRSE2Minna Heikkilä Governance, Strategy and Relations* E1 Frank Büchler GOVERNANCE, STRATEGY AND RELATIONS*E1Frank Büchler Directorate Directorate Internal Audit IAC Minna Strömberg INTERNAL AUDIT IACMinna Strömberg