The European Chemicals Agency comprises:

  • A Management Board, responsible for adopting the financial planning, work programme, and annual reporting of the Agency, inter alia. 
  • An Executive Director: the legal representative of the Agency, responsible for the day to day management and administration of the Agency, including responsibility over its finances. The Executive Director reports to the Management Board. 
  •  A Member State Committee, to resolve differences of opinion on draft decisions proposed by the Agency or Member States and to make proposals for identification of substances of very high concern.
  • Risk Assessment Committee, to prepare opinions on evaluation, on applications for authorisation, on proposals for restrictions and on classification and labelling.
  •  A Committee for Socio-economic Analysis, to prepare opinions on applications for authorisation, on proposals for restrictions and on questions relating to the socio-economic impact of proposed legislative action.
  • Forum on enforcement matters, to coordinate a network of Member State competent authorities responsible for enforcement.
  • Biocidal Products Committee, to prepare opinions on applications for approval and renewal of active substances, identification of active substances which are candidates for substitution, applications for inclusion in Annex I, applications for Union authorisation, scientific and technical matters concerning mutual recognition.
  •  A Secretariat, under the leadership of the Executive Director, to support the Committees and Forum, and to undertake work on registration and evaluation processes as well as the preparation of guidance, maintenance of databases and provision of information.
  • Board of Appeal, to decide on appeals against decisions taken by the Agency.

Please click on the boxes to see the relevant unit statements.

Page-1 Executive Director Dr Sharon McGuinness EXECUTIVE DIRECTORDr Sharon McGuinness Management Board Paul Krajnik MANAGEMENT BOARDPaul Krajnik Board of Appeal BoA Antoine Buchet BOARD OF APPEALBOAAntoine Buchet Communications A1 David Cliffe COMMUNICATIONSA1David Cliffe Hazard Assessment C Mike Rasenberg HAZARD ASSESSMENTCMike Rasenberg Submissions and Interaction A Mercedes Viñas SUBMISSIONS AND INTERACTIONAMercedes Viñas Submission and Processing A3 Rémi Lefèvre SUBMISSION AND PROCESSINGA3Rémi Lefèvre Risk Management D Peter van der Zandt RISK MANAGEMENTDPeter van der Zandt Information Systems I Kai Taka-aho INFORMATION SYSTEMSIKai Taka-aho Resources R Shay O’Malley RESOURCESRShay OMalley Committee for Socio-Economic Analysis SEAC Maria Ottati COMMITTEE FOR SOCIO-ECONOMIC ANALYSISSEACMaria Ottati Enforcement Forum FORUM Katja vom Hofe ENFORCEMENT FORUMFORUMKatja vom Hofe Member State Committee MSC Katinka van der Jagt MEMBER STATE COMMITTEEMSCKatinka van der Jagt Committee for Risk Assessment RAC Tim Bowmer COMMITTEE FOR RISK ASSESSMENTRACTim Bowmer ORGANISATION CHART ORGANISATION CHART Biocidal Products Committee BPC Erik van de Plassche BIOCIDAL PRODUCTS COMMITTEEBPCErik van de Plassche * The quality management function forms part of the Governanc... * The quality management function forms part of the Governance, Strategy and Relations Unit Prioritisation and Integration B Ofelia Bercaru PRIORITISATION AND INTEGRATIONBOfelia Bercaru Prioritisation B3 Mark Blainey PRIORITISATIONB3Mark Blainey Ver 9.0/2022 Ver 9.0/2022 Support and Enforcement A2 Erwin Annys SUPPORT AND ENFORCEMENTA2Erwin Annys Data Availability A4 Annika Mälkiä DATA AVAILABILITYA4Annika Mälkiä Computational Assessment and Alternative Methods B2 Tiago Ped... COMPUTATIONAL ASSESSMENT AND ALTERNATIVE METHODSB2Tiago Pedrosa Exposure and Supply Chain B4 Kevin Pollard EXPOSURE AND SUPPLY CHAIN B4Kevin Pollard Chemistry B1 Suvi Takala, Acting HoU CHEMISTRYB1Suvi Takala, Acting HoU Hazard I C1 Paul Ryan HAZARD IC1Paul Ryan Hazard III C3 Wim De Coen HAZARD III C3Wim De Coen Hazard II C2 Hugues Kenigswald HAZARD IIC2Hugues Kenigswald Hazard IV C4 Sampo Karkola HAZARD IV C4Sampo Karkola Biocidal Products D2 Watze de Wolf BIOCIDAL PRODUCTSD2Watze de Wolf Biocidal Active Substances D1 Claudio Carlon BIOCIDAL ACTIVE SUBSTANCES D1Claudio Carlon Risk Management I D3 Simone Doyle RISK MANAGEMENT I D3Simone Doyle Risk Management II D4 Matti Vainio RISK MANAGEMENT II D4Matti Vainio Productivity and Support Systems I1 Loukas Georgiou PRODUCTIVITY AND SUPPORT SYSTEMSI1Loukas Georgiou Submissions and Cloud Platforms I2 Orion Andrews SUBMISSIONS AND CLOUD PLATFORMSI2Orion Andrews Integrated Regulatory Systems I3 Fabrizio Francioso INTEGRATED REGULATORY SYSTEMS I3Fabrizio Francioso Finance R1 Tuula Hakala FINANCE R1Tuula Hakala Human Resources R2 Eric Rieger HUMAN RESOURCES R2Eric Rieger Corporate Services R3 John Wickham CORPORATE SERVICES R3John Wickham Registry of the Board of Appeal RBoA Alen Močilnikar REGISTRY OF THE BOARD OF APPEALRBOAAlen Močilnikar ECHA Bodies ECHA Bodies Executive Director Executive Director Unit Unit Staff Staff Legal Affairs E2 Minna Heikkilä LEGAL AFFAIRSE2Minna Heikkilä Governance, Strategy and Relations* E1 Frank Büchler GOVERNANCE, STRATEGY AND RELATIONS*E1Frank Büchler Directorate Directorate Internal Audit IAC Minna Strömberg INTERNAL AUDIT IACMinna Strömberg Dynamic connector 2 2 3 4 5 6 7 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 2 5 6 7 0 1 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 5 7 2 4