Member states and competent authorities

Cooperation with the Member States

ECHA works closely with the European Union Member States and the European Economic Area (EEA) countries Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.   

Member State representatives are members of ECHA's Management Board, the Agency's Committees, the Forum and several networks. EEA countries participate in these bodies and networks without the right to vote. The Member State competent authorities cooperate with the Agency in its different processes.

Member State Competent Authorities

The competent authorities designated under the different EU Regulations applicable to ECHA are ECHA's cooperation partners in the Member States. Many of them are ministries or agencies in the environmental sector. Some countries have also nominated organisations working with financial, health or labour issues to be responsible.

ECHA cooperates closely with the competent authorities in many of its processes, exchanging information, providing support and training to the Member States.